top of page
Search
  • annecybaez

Centering Ritual - Week 3, Day 4: Gratitude for the Ancestors

Updated: Aug 29, 2020

Opening Thought: The ties that binds us to relationships extend beyond the living to those who lived. Those who have lived also keep us company, in memories and presence. Just as with the living, we have relations to cherish, at times also need to do repair work, and even put distance with those who have lived.


Centering Meditation: The Sanctuary, meditation will help you deepen a connection with your ancestors. If this meditation goes beyond your spiritual and religious traditions, send me a video that represents your particular tradition and I will post if I can. Otherwise, take time to connect with ancestral wisdom. Then listen to the Rising Appalachia, “I believe in being ready” lyrics included for writing and reflection. I will sit on Thursdays at 7:00 pm and think of you.


Meditation reflection: You can take your journal and write a few notes on your experience of this meditation.



Centering Lyrics “I believe in being ready”


I believe in being ready

I believe in being ready

I believe in being ready

For the time is drawing near

Brothers, sisters please get ready

Brothers, sisters please get ready

Brothers, sisters please get ready

For the time is drawing near

Oh there’ll be signs and wonders

Oh there’ll be signs and wonders

Oh there’ll be signs and wonders

For the time is drawing near

We’ll turn round and just start over

We’ll turn round and just start over

We’ll turn round and just start over

For the time is drawing near

I believe in being ready

I believe in being ready

I believe in being ready

For the time is drawing near

I believe in being ready

I believe in being ready

I believe in being ready

For the time is drawing near

For the time is drawing near

For the time is drawing near

Close reading – To do a close reading you take the text and read it first silently, and then out loud to connect with the language, the words, the story of the poem or text. Let the words seep into your body, let thoughts, images, emotions and memory surface. Highlight what you connect with, takes notes. What comes up for you? What words, sentences, thoughts stir something within you?


Centering Reflection & Writing:

As you read what you wrote reflect on the following: What do you notice? What are you aware of? What do you feel? What are you curious about? To reflect on the reflection is a practice of bibliotherapy.

Centering Ritual: Centering Ritual: Centering Ritual: Imagine a conversation you wish you would have had with someone who already lived. It can be a loving one or a hard conversation. Write out your intention and send them to those who lived.

To learn more about these centering rituals check our page, Centering Ritual


Thank you Dr. Ortega for allowing me to use your centering rituals first published in Open Plaza. They have been the inspiration for grounding, centering, and creative self-expression. Today, I have used Dr. Ortega’s “opening thought”, the song and lyrics & video were added by me to this centering week.

14 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page